Baingan bharta ( Minced spicy Egg plant/ aubergine )

“Baingan Bharta” is a side dish served along with flat bread or on a bed of rice in most Indian cuisine. This dish has been given different names all over India. It is called “Baingan bharta”, “Baingan da bhurtha”, “baingan ka bhurtha”, “oodo”& “Wangyacha bharit” just to name a few.

IMG_9695

Traditionally to make it, Egg plant/ Aubergine/ Baingan is roasted on fire or charcoal so it has a smoky flavour. This process is a bit messy and leaves the gas stove full of egg plant juice, which adds up to more time in kitchen after meals are prepared. I use to do it, until my Mother in law suggested me to peel egg pants and pressure cook it. It is most easy and convenient way to do it.
IMG_9701
Dolly a fellow blogger friend,shared with me that Egg plants can also be cooked in microwave by pricking them with fork and covering up with paper towel. By doing this it would also give it a bit of smoky effect. Best type of egg plant, to make “Baingan Bharta” is the one shown in picture below.
eggplant-11
Image Source : Google
To make “Baingan Bharta” Eggplant is combine with fresh coriander, spring onion, peas and tomatoes. I gave it a bit of my own little touch to it by adding kasturi methi (By now you would have known my love for it ), grated cottage cheese and grounded peanut.
IMG_9694
This preparation is quiet similar to Middle East dip called “Baba ghanoush” in which cooked egg plant are mixed with garlic, tahini, onion and tomatoes, which is seasoned with lemon juice, cumin powder and salt. If you are looking to try some easy Mediterranean dish with Indian flavours you should definitely have a look at – > Indian Hummus Flavoured Sandwich. If you are looking for some other options for a busy weeknight dinner have a look at -> Cottage cheese and Veggie wraps.
IMG_9696
I would like to confess something to you all that as a child when my mother would prepare a dish with egg plants I would avoid eating it, Do you know the reason? It is due to it’s seeds, I use to find them very slimy to eat. I know that is very wired. It all changed until I was introduced to this dish. I was not able to make out, that it is made using egg plants until I was told. (Hint for all mothers with picky kids you too can give it a try).
IMG_9697
This dish makes me very nostalgic, as we use to have “Oodo”(Bainga Bhartha) with hot plain “Khichadi” topped with droplet of “Ghee”,”Kadhi”, “Bajra no rotlo”  accompanied by “Jaggery”, “Lemon pickle”, “Papad” and “Butter milk” at road side “dhaba”(Earty) on cold winter nights. Wow they were the best days. I wish to relive that moment again during my upcoming visit to India this time. 🙂
Here is the recipe “How to make Baingan Bharta

Ingredients:

4 big egg plants/aubergine (Peeled, pressure cooked and meshed )
1 table spoon, oil
1/2 tea spoon, mustard seeds
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 tea spoon, green chilli paste
1/2 table spoon, fennel seeds
2 spring onions greens, finely chopped
1 tomato, chopped
1/2 tea spoon, turmeric powder
1 table spoon, coriander powder
1 tea spoon, garam masala powder
1 table spoon, red chilli powder
salt to taste
2 table spoon, peanuts grounded
2 table spoon, cottage cheese grated
1 table spoon, kasturi methi
2 table spoon, coriander leaves
1/4 cup, peas
Preparation:
  1. In a deep pan add oil once it heats up add mustard seeds, after it crackles add chopped garlic and green chilli paste.IMG_9702
  2. Add fennel seeds, followed by spring onions greens and tomatoes, fry them until it is mussy for about 2-3 minutes.
  3. Next add pressure cooked egg plant followed by all the spice : Garam Masala, Turmeric powder, Red chilli powder, Coriander powder and salt according to taste.

     

  4. Once spices are cooked add coriander leaves, grated cottage cheese, grounded peanuts, kusturi methi and peas.
  5. Cook it for 4-5 minutes and serve it hot.IMG_9696
  Do give this dish a try, I would be awaiting your feedback.
38 thoughts on “Baingan bharta ( Minced spicy Egg plant/ aubergine )

  1. This looks so so amazing! I’m very eager to try it:)
    For some reason I’ve never been a fan of roasted eggplant… Maybe it’s the slimy nature:) but this looks so masala filled and mouthwatering:)
    And I will try the pressure cooked version too… Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, I am so happy to know that even you find Egg plants slimy 🙂 I thought It was just me who thought of egg plants that way.

      This dish is a n exception though as it is full of flavours and masala 🙂

      Do give it a try, you wont regret 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so interesting, with all the amazing spices! Babaganouch is just eggplant with garlic and tahini, sometimes people add cumin and coriander, but you have here something elaborate and sophisticated. Eggplant is very easily baked in the microwave, if pierced with a fork and wrapped in paper towels.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot Dolly, yes I have had babaganouch a few time before and It reminds me of this dish. You know, by mentioning about tahini am thinking of adding a bit of sesame seeds to it next time I make. 😀

      I would love to try baking egg plant next time as well. Would you mind if I update that on my blog ? Along with a your name and link to your blog ?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

