Singapore Food Festival and Nachos Chaat Recipe

Singapore is a food paradise, one of the celebration that attract foodies like me is Singapore Food Festival. STREAT is a signature event that took place last Friday. How could I and my friends miss that?

img_9446

It was organised at Clifford Square along Singapore River Bank with backdrop of majestic skyline. The moment we stepped into the space we could feel the energy with inviting ambience. There was a big tent were the top chefs were housed. Next to it were food stalls from different hawker centre all over Singapore. They all were dishing Modern touched Singaporean food.

img_9449

There was lots of delicious non vegetarian food, for me luckily I did spot a stall selling -Curry Spiced Cauliflower with Walnuts and Cheddar. Personally I am not a big fan of Cauliflower but my friends had queued up almost half an hour so that I can lay a hand on it, while I had reserved a place for us on the lawn. So how can I not eat that? Okay I did not had the whole portion for myself but I had enough to know that It was cooked to perfection in mustud sauce.

img_9444

When I visit such place, the thing that attracts me personally is the opportunity to spend some quality time with my friends, taking in the breeze and relaxing. It felt like we were at outdoor paty. How I wished I could have a bowl of Nachos chaat while I was catching up with my friends. Some of my other recipes that can also be served at outdoor parties are Vegetable sandwich and Cucumber sandwich.

img_9448

Nachos chaat is my version of the famous Indian street food Papadi chaat. This is something that I make when I crave for Spicy delicious food, and want to make something in a jiffy. In this I have replaced Papdi puri ( Fried flat bread) with Nachos.

img_9469

Let me know your take on this. Do you have any recipes like this, to which you have given your interesting twist to either make it healthy or save up on time ? Do share it’s link in the comment session so that we all can exchange them with each other. I would love to check them out.

Ingredients:

“For Salsa”

2 tomatoes

1 onion

2 cloves of garlic

1 Chill

Coriander leaves

Lemon juice

Salt as per taste

“For Chaat”

50 grams boiled chick peas

1 boiled potato, peeled and diced

Salt to taste

1 tea spoon coriander powder

1 tea spoon Red chilli powder

1/2 tea spoon garam Masala powder

2 table spoon Dates and tamarind Chutney

1/2 onion finely chopped

1/2 cup boiled corn

20 grams grated cheese

20 grams Sev ( Fried noodles )

1 table spoon Green Chutney (Optional)

Preparation:

  1. To make Salsa add all ingredients in a mixer, give it a churn and transfer into a bowl.

2) In another bowl add boiled chick peas and potatoes, season it with salt, red chilli powder, coriander powder and Garam Masala. Give it a mix.

img_9464

3) To assemble Chaat lay Nachos, pile up the spiced chickpeas and potatoes on it.img_9466

4) Next drizzle it with Salsa along with Dates and tamarind chutney. You can also add green chutney at this point if you would like it more spicy.

img_9467

5) Finally sprinkle with onions, corn, sev and cheese. Serve immediately.

img_9469

This was what I love to have when I go for an outdoor party. What is that one dish that you would like to have at your outdoor party?

Find me on Facebook / Pinterest / Instagram

13 thoughts on “Singapore Food Festival and Nachos Chaat Recipe

Leave a Reply

